Internal Medicine Represented at ACP Annual Meeting | Press room

The UNMC Department of Internal Medicine was well represented in the Nebraska Chapter of the annual meeting of the American College of Physicians on Oct. 15.

The ACP is a national organization of internists and physicians. The Nebraska chapter includes approximately 1,000 members. The ACP is the largest medical specialty association in the world.

The meeting included a welcome from the chapter’s governor, Micah Beachy, DO of UNMC, of ​​the Department of Hospital Medicine. Scott Lundgren, DO, Department of Cardiology, presented on the treatment of heart failure. Justin Birge, MD, Department of Hospital Medicine, spoke about health information systems.

In addition, Raquel Lamarche, MD, presented an oral abstract as part of the resident abstract competition, and Regan Taylor, MD, Department of General Internal Medicine, chaired the award committee.

UNMC winners included:

  • Debra Romberger, MD, chair department of internal medicine: Laureate Award
  • Tammy Wichman, physician, associate professor, department of pulmonary medicine, intensive care and sleep medicine: Award for female physician of the year
  • Remy Grace Sass, MD, Resident Internal Medicine: Resident of the Year Award
  • Nate Anderson, physician, assistant professor, department of general internal medicine, chief of the scientific program committee of the chapter: LeeRoy Meyer Dedicated Teaching Award
  • Jocelyn Daubendiek: Winner Medical Student Abstract Competition
  • Brett Begley, MD, Domenic DiSanti, DO, Joshua Edgar, MD, Hannah Luksa, MD: Doctors Dilemma Competition winners

Click here for more information about the Chapter Awards.

Leave a Comment