Dal Medicine’s Alum of the Year Improving Lives of Transplant Patients Worldwide – Dal News

The Dalhousie Medical Alumni Association has announced the recipients of the 2022 DMAA Alumni Recognition Awards: six deserving members of the alumni community, who will be honored at a dinner on November 25, 2022.

“We are delighted to present the Alum of the Year Award to Dr. Robert Liwski (BSc ’94, PhD ’99, MD ’03), Chief of the Department of Hematopathology at the QEII Health Sciences Center, and a Professor in the Department of Pathology at Dalhousie University,” said Dr. Cindy Forbes (MD ’85), President of the DMAA. “His work in discovering and implementing new technologies in the tissue typing laboratory has improved the lives of transplant patients worldwide.”

As director of the Human Leukocyte Antigen (HLA) Laboratory in the Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine at QEII, Dr. Liwski contributed immensely to optimizing the care of solid organ and bone marrow transplant patients in Atlantic Canada.

“Dr. Liwski has made significant innovations in transplant matching, decreasing the time it takes to match transplant recipients with their donors,” explains Dr. Forbes out. “He is internationally recognized and we are proud to have him as a Dal Med alum.”

Medicine is one of Dal’s largest faculties, graduating 160 students each year, joining an alumni community of 10,500.

From veterans to newcomers

Among the other award recipients being honored is Dr. Cyril Moyse (MD ’72), who will receive the prestigious Honorary President Award for his leadership and outstanding commitment to family medicine in Prince Edward Island throughout his nearly 50-year career. In addition to his practice, Dr. Moyse served as a clinical instructor and preceptor at Dalhousie’s Department of Family Medicine.

The GP of the Year 2022 award goes to Dr Mary Frances Moriarty (MD ’77). Dr. Moriarty is seen as a leader among her colleagues and serves as network leader, Dartmouth for the Department of Family Medicine in Central Zone – where one of her main duties is to recruit, welcome and mentor new doctors in the area. Dr. Moriarty has served as an advocate for all family physicians in Dartmouth through her work as their representative at Nova Scotia Health.

Dr. Stephanie Snow (MD ’05), QEII Staff Oncologist and Associate Professor in the Faculty of Medicine, receives the 2022 Young Alum of the Year Award, which recognizes Dr. Snow for patient advocacy. She is the current president of Lung Cancer Canada and sits on the medical advisory boards of several other colon and gastric cancer patient advocacy groups.

Recognize residents

As of 2020, the DMAA also presents awards to two Dalhousie Medical School residents. Dr. Matt Lowe (MD ’19) is the recipient of the Resident Leadership Award, Family Medicine, while Dr. Matt MacGillivary (MD ’18) will receive the Resident Leadership Award, Royal College Specialties and Subspecialties.

Dr. Lowe’s passion for patient advocacy led him to serve on the Nova Scotia Health committee that created the Medical Assistance in Dying protocol, while Dr. MacGillivary has taken on numerous volunteer opportunities in his busy dermatology residency, including involvement on committees of Resident Doctors of Canada, the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia, and Doctors Nova Scotia.

Both Drs. Lowe and MacGillivary are permanent fixtures among their peers and peers as resident leaders within the Faculty of Medicine.

Leave a Comment