Android

Alarm! Google just banned 4 new apps and millions have asked for them to be removed immediately

Google just banned four new apps in the PlayStore and you should uninstall them immediately.

Google just banned four new apps in the PlayStore for spreading malicious content on your Android device. The Google Play Store is a heavily guarded store that promises to scan all apps and provide users with a safe experience when downloading the latest apps. However, hackers eventually find a loophole or way to embed malicious code into their apps, and that leads to hurtful users downloading them. Google recently reported similar malicious apps and had to remove them.

The four apps came from the same developer and were found to spread malicious content in a clever way. Shortly after the discovery, the developer’s website, called Mobile Apps Group, was unavailable. The developer has published the following four apps on the Google Play Store and if you have installed any of them on your Android phone, you should uninstall them immediately.

– Bluetooth connect automatically

– bluetooth app sender,

– Mobile switching: smart switching

– Driver: Bluetooth, WiFi, USB

Google removes 4 apps from Play Store

These apps worked smartly to bypass security checks on Android devices. Once installed, malicious activities were slowed down to bypass security checks. This way the apps seemed to work just as well for the first few days. However, after a few days, these apps come into their own and the spam and phishing begins on the victim’s device.

Reported by MalwareBytes, the malicious app is said to open phishing sites in Google Chrome. “The content of the phishing sites varies – some are harmless sites that are simply used to produce pay-per-click, and others are more dangerous phishing sites that try to trick unsuspecting users. For example, a site contains adult content that leads to phishing pages that tell the user that they are infected or need an update,” the report said.

“Chrome tabs open in the background even when the mobile device is locked. When the user unlocks their device, Chrome opens with the latest site. A new tab opens periodically with a new site, resulting in unlocking your phone after several hours means closing multiple tabs. The user’s browser history will also be a long list of nasty phishing sites,” it added.

Leave a Comment