Android

Enable maintenance mode on Samsung Galaxy devices

Samsung introduced maintenance mode to protect your personal data from unauthorized access. Here’s how to use it.


With One UI 5, Samsung has implemented a maintenance mode feature that helps protect your data when sending phones in for repair. It allows technicians to access the phone while keeping your data private. So let’s see what maintenance mode is and how to activate it.


What is Maintenance Mode?

Maintenance mode creates a new Android profile with all stock apps and settings. Technicians can access any apps or settings they need to perform a repair, but they can’t access your personal information, such as your photos, videos, or messages. A technician cannot disable maintenance mode without knowing your PIN or pattern.

Maintenance mode also allows you to collect logs, which can provide essential information for repairs, such as a list of recent app crashes. These logs help a technician understand the underlying problem with your device. These logs do not contain any personal information about the user.

When you disable maintenance mode, the new profile will be removed along with all apps installed before the repair. Your phone returns to your original profile, where all your settings, apps, and data are just as you left them.

When to use maintenance mode

You only really need to use maintenance mode if you hand over your Galaxy device to someone else. Usually this is if you give your device to a technician for a phone repair. By putting your device into maintenance mode in advance, the technician can do whatever it takes to make repairs without having access to your data.

Enable maintenance mode on Samsung Galaxy phones

After entering maintenance mode, your Galaxy device appears to have been factory reset, except for a maintenance mode notification and an icon in the status bar. Follow these instructions to enable maintenance mode on Samsung Galaxy devices:

  1. Open your phone’s Settingsscroll down and tap Take care of battery and device choice.
  2. Scroll down and then under the Additional care options, tap Maintenance Mode.
  3. Press To turn on.
  4. On the next page, choose if you want this Restart without creating a log or not.
  5. Tap Restarting. When your device reboots, it will be in maintenance mode.

How to disable maintenance mode

When you get your phone back from the technician, you’ll want to disable maintenance mode so you can access all your data again. You can do this through a maintenance mode notification, if you have one, or you can go back to the maintenance mode settings. Either way, you’ll need to enter your PIN, pattern, or fingerprint to verify your identity.

To exit maintenance mode on Samsung Galaxy devices, do the following:

  1. Open your phone’s Settingsscroll down and tap Take care of battery and device choice.
  2. Scroll down and then under the Additional care options, tap Maintenance Mode.
  3. Press Exit button at the bottom of the page and select Restarting.
  4. Use your PIN, pattern or fingerprint to verify your identity.
  5. Your device will reboot in normal mode.

Secure your personal information with maintenance mode

Maintenance Mode is one of those features that we recommend getting familiar with, even if you never need to use it. It should eliminate the risk of your data being compromised when you take your phone in for repair, giving you a lot more peace of mind.

Despite this, we strongly recommend that you backup all your data before giving your phone to the technician.

Leave a Comment