NCAA Football

Who is the NASCAR Rookie of the Year?

Team Penske driver Austin Cindric kicked off the 2022 NASCAR season with a win in the season-opening Daytona 500. Cindric was officially named Sunoco Rookie of the Year in the NASCAR Cup Series for 2022 at the end of Sunday’s Championship Race at Phoenix. Raceway.

The 24-year-old became the second driver in Team Penske history to win the Rookie of the Year award since Ryan Newman won the award in 2002. Cindric winning this title also marks the third consecutive year that a Ford driver play. a newcomer to the series, following Cole Custer and Chase Briscoe, winning the award in 2020 and 2021, respectively.

Cindric ended the impressive 2022 season with an 11th place finish at Phoenix Raceway. His Rookie of the Year title was secured by virtue of his performances throughout the season, which led to him becoming the rookie among ROTY contestants Harrison Burton and Todd Gilliland.

Ford’s No. 2 driver’s victory at the Daytona 500 made him the first driver to secure a playoff spot and he later advanced to the round of 16 in the playoffs. He scored five top-fives and nine top-10s, led 86 laps and also took his first career pole at Auto Club Speedway in February. Austin Cindric also finished 12th in the final championship standings – the best result for a rookie driver since 2016.

The other contenders for Rookie of the Year in the series are Wood Brother driver Harrison Burton and Front Row Motorsports driver Todd Gilliland. Burton finished 27th in the standings with a best third-place finish at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Road Course. Burton closed the year with a 19th place finish in Phoenix.

While Gilliland finished 28th in the standings with a best fourth-place finish at the Indy Road Course, he closed the season with a 29th-place finish in Phoenix.

Who won the 2022 Rookie of the Year award in the NASCAR Xfinity Series and Camping World Truck Series

Richard Childress Racing driver Austin Hill won the 2022 NASCAR Xfinity Series Rookie of the Year award with the help of his two victories at Daytona International Speedway and Atlanta Motor Speedway. Hill finished the season with a ninth-place finish in the final race of the season at Phoenix Raceway and won the ROTY title.

Driving the #51 Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports in the 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, Corey Heim won Rookie of the Year with his impressive race of the season. Heim finished 211 points ahead of Lawless Alan for his rookie title win.

Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda

Leave a Comment